How to voice your opinion

Mick2-borderTo effectively get your message through to Stonnington Council or write Letters to the Editor we’ve listed some tips below.

For Questions to Council

Emails to be addressed as follows

To: council@stonnington.vic.gov.au

Subject: Questions to Council – Chadstone Bowls Club

cc all councillors – Refer to list of councillors’ email addresses below.

  • Each person is allowed only five questions (per council meeting)
  • Questions must be submitted by 10 am on the day of the Council meeting (or before).
  • Questions must include the name and address of the questioner and the date of the question.

Questions submitted this way have to be acknowledged at the Council Meeting.

If the person who submitted the questions is at the meeting, a summary of the questions (e.g. Regarding Chadstone Bowls Club)  will be read out, and a written reply will be sent within 14 days of the council meeting date.

If the questioner is not present, the council will respond in their usual standard correspondence timeframe.

By submitting your questions this way, all Councillors will know that questions are being asked and it keeps the pressure on Council officers

If you send questions to a Councillor, they can chose to reply or not.

Questions by facsimile or email are acceptable, or contact the Civic Support Officer on 8290 1331 for further methods of submitting questions.

Stonnington Council advises that questions may be rejected if the question is, or is potentially, defamatory, indecent, offensive, abusive, objectionable in language or substance, irrelevant, trivial, aimed at embarrassing a Councillor or a member of Council staff, outside Council’s powers or functions, which has been asked at a previous Council meeting and a reply issued.

To keep track of the information that council is using, would you please forward your responses received from Stonnington Council (answering your submitted questions) by email to: chadstonebc@dodo.com.au.

Other Communications

For correspondence to a Councillor or Councillors or the CEO of Stonnington

Refer below for individual email addresses (Postal address 311 Glenferrie Road, Malvern 3144)

Suggested topics could be:

  • Why the bowls club is important to you
  • How long have you been a member
  • How has being a member been good for you or for others you know
  • What would you do if the bowls club wasn’t here
  • Share some history of the CBC
EAST WARD COUNCILLORS
Mayor Cr Jami Klisaris

0427 333 471

jklisaris@stonnington.vic.gov.au

Cr Glen Atwell

0429 106 772

gatwell@stonnington.vic.gov.au

Cr Sally Davis

0429 343 561

sdavis@stonnington.vic.gov.au

NORTH WARD COUNCILLORS
Cr John Chandler OAM

0417 771 288

jchandler@stonnington.vic.gov.au 

Cr Marcia Griffin

0429 239 413

mgriffin@stonnington.vic.gov.au

Cr Matthew Koce

0419 147 352

mkoce@stonnington.vic.gov.au

SOUTH WARD COUNCILLORS
Cr Steve Stefanopoulos

0437 118 718

sstefanopoulos@stonnington.vic.gov.au

 Cr Judy Hindle

0429 202 574

jhindle@stonnington.vic.gov.au

Cr Melina Sehr

0417 773 644

msehr@stonnington.vic.gov.au

City of Stonnington

Chief Executive Officer 

Warren Roberts
phone: 8290 1333
wroberts@stonnington.vic.gov.au

For Letters to the Editor 

The Leader  

Email: stonnington@leadernewspapers.com.au

Mail: The Editor, Stonnington Leader, Level 10, HWT Tower, 40 City Road, Southbank Vic 3006

Letters should carry correspondent’s full name, address, email address and daytime phone number

The Age

 http://www.theage.com.au/comment/letters-submit

Herald Sun

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/opinion/letter-to-the-editor

Know Your Council – complaint resolution

http://knowyourcouncil.vic.gov.au/guide-to-councils/consultation-and-complaints/complaint-resolution-bodies

2 replies

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. […] telephone all Councillors and let your feelings be known – you can do this more than once. Click here to see how to communicate with […]

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *